Fundstück

P1020417Every week now more novels are published than Samuel Johnson had to deal with in a decade. If you had the riches of Croesus (or Bill Gates) you could, with a few hours‘ key-stroking, order up from Amazon.com some half-million novels to be Fedexed, rush delivery, in thirty-six hours. You would, of course, need a disused airplane hangar to keep the books in and a small army of forklifting stackers and fetchers to move the things. Given a reading career of fifty years, a 40-hour reading week, a 46-week working year and three hours per novel, you would, as I calculate, need 163 lifetimes to read them all. And very dull lifetimes they would be. More fun on the forklifts. […] Where to start? Is there any point in starting, or shaping one’s reading experiences? How can one organise a curriculum?

So umreißt der emeritierte Professor John Sutherland das Problem, für das er mit seinem Buch How to Read a Novel (2006) eine Hilfestellung geben will.

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Zitate veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

2 thoughts on “Fundstück

  1. Hallo Petra, ja das sehe ich – inzwischen – genauso! Ich bin schon an der Arbeit so durchgetaktet, dass ich mich in der Freizeit an keine Lektüreliste halten möchte. Das Buch soll ja auch zur Stimmung/Situation/momentanen Aufnahmefähigkeit passen und ich finde den Moment immer toll, wenn ich vor dem „Problem“ stehe und überlege, was ich denn nun als nächstes lesen möchte. Und da drängeln sich die Spontan-Entdeckungen immer fröhlich dazwischen. Viele Grüße Anna

Schreibe einen Kommentar

