Lake District 2014 – Teil 5

 P1060362P1060340

There was no place in the world for open country like this stretch of ground in Northern England and Scotland, for it was man’s country: it was neither desert nor icy waste; it had been on terms with man for centuries and was friendly to man. The hills were not so high that they despised you; their rains and clouds and becks and heather and bracken, gold at a season, green at a season, dun at a season, were yours, the air was fresh with kindliness, the running water sharp with friendship, and when the mist came down it was as though the hill put an arm around you and held you even though it killed you. For kill you it might. There was no sentimentality here. It had its own life to lead and, as in true friendship, kept its personality. It had its own tempers with the universe and, when in a rolling rage, was not like to stop and inquire whether you chanced to be about or not. (Hugh Walpole: Rogue Herries)

P1060180

‚I appeal to you, sir […] this is a handsome country, but it rains unduly.‘
‚It would not be so handsome a country,‘ said Harcourt, ‚ did it not rain so frequently.‘ (Hugh Walpole: Rogue Herries)

P1060183P1050695 P1060196P1060168

 

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Fotos, Zitate veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

14 thoughts on “Lake District 2014 – Teil 5

    • Ich freue mich sehr über deine Worte, ich mag das erste Bild auch besonders gern, auch weil es die Dimensionen und den Übergang zwischen Tal und Berg so schön zeigt. Und ich bin mir der Grenzen meiner Kamera und meiner Technik sehr bewusst, umso schöner, wenn trotzdem etwas vom herben Reiz dieser Landschaft „rüberkommt“.

  1. Liebe Anna,
    mich beunruhigen die vielen Menschen – stehen die etwa an? Um in das winzige Boot zu kommen? Ich hätte mich auf dem Absatz herumgedreht und wäre wieder in die Landschaft entflohen, ins Grün der Wiesen und Berge oder in den wunderbaren Hortensiengarten.
    Viele Grüße, Claudia

    • Hallo Claudia,
      diese Schlange steht tatsächlich für eine Bootstour an. Wir haben uns das Treiben nur genüsslich beschaut und haben unsere eigene Bootstour – die muss man ja mindestens einmal im Lake District unternehmen – morgens um neun gemacht. Da war nix mit Schlange🙂 Ja, die Hortensien, mein Mann hat behauptet, ich hätte jede einzelne Blüte fotografiert – dummerweise ist es ja meist windig, sodass das euch zumindest erspart bleibt.
      Viele Grüße, Anna

Schreibe einen Kommentar

