Fundstücke von Barbara Pym

I pulled myself up and told myself to stop these ridiculous thoughts, wondering why it is that we can never stop trying to analyse the motives of people who have no personal interest in us, in the vain hope of finding that perhaps they may have just a little after all. (S. 221)

Perhaps there can be too much making of cups of tea, I thought, as I watched Miss Statham filling the heavy teapot. We had all had our supper, or were supposed to have had it […] Did we really need a cup of tea?  I even said as much to Miss Statham and she looked at me with a hurt, almost angry look, ‚Do we need tea?‘ she echoed. ‚But Miss Lathbury…‘ She sounded puzzled and distressed and I began to realise that my question had struck at something deep and fundamental. It was the kind of question that starts a landslide in the mind. (S. 227)

‚Nothing can ever be really the same when time has passed,‘ I said, more to myself than to them, ‚even if it appears to be from the outside …‘ (S. 234)

Barbara Pym: Excellent Women (1952)

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Zitate veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

