Charles Chaplin über Patriotismus

Naturally, if the country I which I lived were to be invaded, like most of us, I believe I would be capable of an act of supreme sacrifice. But I am incapable of a fervent love of homeland, for it has only to turn Nazi and I would leave it without compunction – and from what I have observed, the cells of Nazism, although dormant at the moment, can be activated very quickly in every country. Therefore, I do not wish to make any sacrifice for a political cause unless I personally believe in it. I am no martyr for nationalism – neither do I wish to die for a president, a prime minister or a dictator.

Charles Chaplin: My Autobiography, 1964, S. 350

Dieser Beitrag wurde unter Zitate veröffentlicht. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

2 thoughts on “Charles Chaplin über Patriotismus

Schreibe einen Kommentar

